

ISPN Business Meeting - Minutes

Wednesday 23 October 2019 **18:05-18:50** (GMT+1) Hall A, International Convention Centre, Birmingham, United Kingdom

1. President & Secretary welcome

ISPN President Wolfgang Wagner (WW) and Secretary Adrian Caceres (AC) welcomed all members to the annual Business Meeting then gave the word to Ramiro del Rio to explain how to install and use the ISPN App for the voting.

ISPN members were requested, as in the previous year to put forward the names of members from the floor to be added to the Nominating Committee. The following 5 candidates were put forward:

- Eduardo Jucá (Brazil)
- Masahiro Nonaka (Japan)
- Richard Anderson (USA)
- Robert Keating (USA)
- Moise Danielpour (USA)

Active members were then invited to submit their preferred vote through the ISPN app.

2. Treasurer's report

Mike Handler (MH), ISPN Treasurer, presented ISPN's financial status by showing current assets, and 2019 income and expenses. MH commented current assets remain strong. The income of the society largely comes from membership and the journal. Expenses cover mainly the maintenance of the society activities. The society ended the year with a net profit of around 19,000 USD.

3. ISPN 2024 - 52nd Annual Meeting Site Selection

WW continued by presenting the recommended destination for the 52nd ISPN Annual Meeting. The destinations that were invited to present a full bid were: Hong Kong, Cairo and Kolkata. Following the presentation of the bids the Executive Board had proposed at its meeting on October 20th 2019, to have the 2024 Annual Meeting in Cairo, Egypt.

The membership approved the proposed destination and ISPN 2024 will be held in Cairo, Egypt.

4. Committees

a. Scientific

Francesco Sala (FS), ISPN Scientific Committee Chair, shortly presented the scientific report and the numbers for the 2019 ISPN Annual Meeting. FS acknowledged the work of the Scientific Committee and summarized that in both scientific and financial terms they did very well.

b. Education

Sandip Chatterjee (SC), ISPN Education Committee Chair, went through the proposed course destinations for 2020. For 2020, 9 courses, plus one advanced course, are planned.

SC added that the ISPN app was successfully used during the courses as well as promotion of The Guide. Information about the courses for next year can be found in the app, under ISPN Info tab.













The members approved the 9 Education courses for 2020.

c. Ways & Means

AC shared that the current ISPN supporting programmes include meeting scholarships, travel scholarships and education grants. AC stressed that for all these there are application criteria which could be found on the ISPN website and must be followed by all applicants.

Martina Messing-Jünger (MMJ), Ways & Means Committee Chair, added that especially when it comes to the Visiting Fellowships Program it is very important that applicants follow the timeline, to apply for a visit which is in the future and to meet all requirements listed on the website.

WW presented the winners for the Visiting Fellowships:

- Dr. Ibrahima Barete (Guinea)
- Dr. Lazaro de Lima (Brazil)
- Dr. Olga Sergeenko (Russia)

The members approved the Visiting Fellowships winners.

d. Membership

Anthony Figaji (AF), Membership Chair, presented the numbers for ISPN Membership for 2019. AF summarized there was a 20% increase in membership in 2019. AF reminded the members that Membership is not just what they receive as benefits from the ISPN, but a support to the organization so that it can continues all its activities.

The new ISPN members for 2019 were presented and approved by the active members.

AC continued that there is also a proposal for additional Membership requirements only for cases in which the application's criteria (two supporting letters of Active ISPN Members) cannot be met and this would be included in the future as a proposed addition in the By-Laws.

e. Nominating

Graham Fieggen (GF), Chair of the Nominating Committee, presented the proposed candidates for the Executive Board (EB). GF reminded made note of the fact that the 2 members from the floor who will be chosen as representatives in the Nominating Committee are not eligible to be elected for the EB.

The following candidates were proposed for the 2019-2020 EB:

- President: Francisco Salomão (automatic succession from President Elect)
- President Elect: Rick Boop
- Nominating Committee Chair: Wolfgang Wagner (ex-officio)
- 2020 Meeting Chairman: Wan Tew Seow
- Secretary Anthony Figaji
 - Assistant Secretary Federico Di Rocco
- Treasurer Adrian Caceres
 - Assistant Treasurer Michael Handler
- Scientific Francesco Sala
 - Co-Chair Abhaya Kulkarni
- Education Sandip Chatterjee
 - Co- chair Nelci Zanon













- Audit John Kestle
 - Co-chair Niina Salokorpi
- By-laws Hiroaki Sakamoto
 - Co-chair: Eylem Ocal
- Communication Ash Singhal
 - Co-chair Llewellyn Padayachy
 - Co-chair (App) Ramiro del Rio
 - Co-chair (Social Media) Benedetta Pettorini
 - Co-chair (Industry Liaison) Luca Massimi
- Ethics and Morals Seung-Ki Kim
 - Co-chair Farideh Nejat
- Liaison Martina Messing-Junger
 - Co-chair Mohamed El-Beltagy
- Membership Shlomi Constantini
 - Co-chair Suchanda Bhattacharjee
- Ways & Means Meng-Fai Kuo
 - Co-chair Miroslav Gjurasin
- Allied Health Professionals Lindy May
 - Co-chair Lydia Ssenyoga
- Annual Meeting Chairs (non-voting)
 - Sergio Valenzuela (Chile)
 - James Drake (Canada)
 - Federico Di Rocco (France)

Historian: Tad TomitaCNS: Concezio di RoccoThe Guide: Rick Abbott

The members approved the new composition of the EB for the period 2019-2020.

Members for the Nominating Committee - Outcome poll

Some members were unable to log-in to the app and use it for voting. AC and WW took the decision for the voting to be done on paper.

After the vote was conducted, the two candidates with the most votes were chosen. Eduardo Jucá (Brazil) and Masahiro Nonaka (Japan) were elected as members from the floor for the Nominating Committee.

5. Next Business Meeting

The next Business Meeting will be held during ISPN 2020 in Singapore.

6. Close

WW thanked all members for their participation and closed the meeting at 18:50.









